A Day Of Indigenous Teachings from Turtle Island

Tuesday August 01, 2023
9am-3pm PDT / 12pm-6pm EDT / 6pm-midnight CET
Approximately 6 hours - each teaching is 1-2 hours

“We are all part of the ancient Sacred Circle of Life. The essential truth of this reality cannot be denied no matter how we look at it; it is simply an irrevocable truth. To embrace and reclaim our Indigenous relationship to all Life is to remember and lovingly celebrate our sacred relationship with our Mother Earth, all relatives of our One Human Family and our kinship with all Life.”  ~ Hereditary Chief Phil Lane Jr. 

Indigenous Teachings hold the wisdom and the medicine to restore our right relationship with the earth, with one another and with all living things. We believe that these Teachings should be available to all people who are seeking them.

To honor and celebrate Mother Earth and the Indigenous Teachings of Turtle Island, we are inviting anyone who would like to attend this FREE day of Traditional Teachings and ceremony to join us. For the gift of receiving these teachings, we ask that all who participate offer one act of love and kindness to Mother Earth.

Please join us and feel free to share this invitation. See event details below. For those of you who are working or have other commitments, all sessions will be recorded and available on our YouTube channel after the event.

GRAND OPENING
With Hereditary Chief Phil Lane Jr.
9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 6pm CET

Chief Phil Lane, Jr. is a world renowned Elder and member of the Dakota and Chickasaw Nations who has dedicated his life to the fulling the prophecy of the Condor, Hummingbird, Quetzal and Eagle. As a Traditional teacher, community advocate, scholar and man who lives his life walking the Red Road, Chief Phil Lane Jr. is a honored member of the Indigenous Community from Turtle Island. In 1982, Chief Phil Lane Jr. co-founded the Four Winds International Institute. Chief Phil Lane Jr. has worked with Indigenous Peoples from the Americas, Micronesia, South East Asia, China, India, Hawaii and Africa. He served 16 years as an associate professor at the Faculty of Education at the University of Alberta in Lethbridge.

Watch the replay

SACRED HERBS, PRAYERS AND LORE OF NATIVE AMERICA
With Mark Stonefish, Community Elder
10am PDT / 1pm EDT / 7pm CET

Mark Stonefish is a Sweat Lodge Conductor of Choctaw descent. At a very young age, Mark was initiated into the Hobichi (Choctaw Sweathouse) and the Native American Church of Mississippi. Mark is a Pipe Keeper of the Gator Clan Pipe from Houma Louisiana and a member of  the Green Corn Dance Grounds in Porch Creek Alabama. Mark is known as a respected Elder within his community. Mark will speak from his experience in Southwestern and Midwestern Native America.

Watch the replay

CATAWBA INDIAN NATION TEACHING
With Elder Monty, Medicine Woman Erika "She Who Walks Through Fire," and Elder Keith Littlebear
11am PDT / 2pm EDT / 8pm CET

Experience a look inside the Catawba Nation. The Catawba Indians live on their ancestral lands along the banks of the Catawba River from North and South Carolina into Southern Virginia. The Catawba have long understood the need to work together and adapt to ever-changing circumstances while also continuing to preserve the most essential parts of their culture. The Tribe still recognizes the reservation as their homelands and feel connected to the ancestors that preserved their Nation by living there and passing the land down from generation to generation.

Watch the replay

NIISHAWSWEA AANIKWAADOON - MY PIPE AND OUR STORY
With Jay Bird, Knowledge Keeper and Jiisikaan Conductor
1pm PDT / 4pm EDT / 10pm CET

Jay Bird is a Jiisikaan (Shake Tent) Conductor. He is Bear Clan and from the Batchewana First Nations of Ojibways, Sault Ste. Marie Ontario. When Jay was four years hold he started attending ceremonies. Jay met his Elder and Teacher who provided him with years of ceremonies and guidance. In 2010 the Batchewana First Nation Chief and council gifted him the Sacred Pipe that he now carries. Jay further embraced his gifts to assist with healing and teaching in both his and other communities. Jay Bird is known as a respected teacher and Elder.

Watch the replay

CLOSING
With Monica McWhirter, Indigenous Liaison for Shamans Directory
3pm PDT / 6pm EDT / 12am CET

Monica McWhirter is Metis and Algonquin. Monica is Bear and Buffalo Clan. She is a cultural teacher who lives life according to the 7 Grandfather Teachings. She has facilitated Talking Circles and Healing Circles for over a decade. She currently lives in Ontario, Canada. She is the Indigenous Liaison for Shamans Directory. Monica is known as an Auntie in her community.

Shamans Directory YouTube link

Join mailinglist
Follow us on social media

© 2024 All rights reserved. Shamans Directory Inc
Webdesign: Fruitmachinedesign 
Web development: Digitom